Skip Navigation
Driving Safety/Deferred Disposition
There are two ways to keep a moving violation from appearing on your driving record with the Texas Department of Public Safety.  These options include Defensive Driving or Deferred Disposition.  Both of these options require fees.  Both options may be requested online by clicking the "Pay Fines" option.  Then you can email all required documents to the court clerk.
Driving Safety Course:

In order to be eligible for the Driving Safety Course, you must:

  • Have a valid Texas Operator's License (Commercial Drivers License not eligible)
  • Have Liability Insurance or other proof of financial responsibility under the name of the defendant. (you will need to provide a copy for court files)
  • You may not have taken a driving safety course for a ticket dismissal within the proceeding 12 months.
  • Not be charged with Speeding 25 miles over the posted limit.

You may pay online and request a Driving Safety Course in writing before your scheduled court date.  You can email your Driver's License and insurance to courtclerk@pineypt.org or go to the office of the City of Piney Point Village and pay in person. 

The amount you pay the court when you sign up is: $129 or $154 (if you received the citation in a school zone) this amount must be paid prior to your Court date, and the Clerk must receive both documents, prior to the court date.

Deferred Disposition:
You may request a Deferred Disposition to keep a moving violation off of your driving record. You would need to pay the total amount of the violation.  You will be required to follow and meet certain terms for the dismissal.
  • Have a valid Texas Operator's License
  • Have liability insurance or other proof of financial responsibility under the name of the defendant
  • At the conclusion of the 90 or 180 days period, you would need to sign the Deferred Disposition Order in front of a notary. 

Copyright © {{YEAR}} - Piney Point Village, Texas.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM